Intergovernmental Meeting between Tłı̨chǫ Government and Government of the Northwest Territories

News Type: 
News Release

YELLOWKNIFE (September 14, 2018) – Premier Bob McLeod, Minister Wally Schumann, Minister Caroline Cochrane, Minister Alfred Moses, Minister Glen Abernethy, and Minister Louis Sebert met with the Tłı̨chǫ Government, Grand Chief George Mackenzie, Chief Clifford Daniels, Chief David Wedawin, Chief Charlie Football, and Chief Alfonz Nitsiza in Yellowknife on Friday, September 14th, 2018.
The meeting focused on areas of mutual interest, including:

  • Wekʼèezhìı Land Use Plan
  • Dinàgà Wek’èhodì candidate protected area
  • Housing
  • Barren-ground and Boreal Caribou Management
  • Intergovernmental Services Agreement
  • Tłı̨chǫ Community Services Agency Chair
  • Fortune Mineral and 23.4.1 of the Tłı̨chǫ Agreement
  • Intergovernmental MOU Renewal

The Tłı̨chǫ Government and the GNWT are working collaboratively on a number of issues such as the Wek’èezhı̀ı Land Use Plan and the Dinàgà Wek’èhodì protected area.

Positive results from the intergovernmental meeting commitments are being realized with the creation and ongoing work of the Tłı̨chǫ Housing Working Group, which is addressing housing issues in Tłı̨chǫ communities.

The Tłı̨chǫ Government and the GNWT agreed to continue discussions on the selection process for the Chair of the Tłı̨chǫ Community Services Agency. The two governments also agreed to continue discussions towards a new Intergovernmental Services Agreement that ensures quality programs and services are delivered to residents of the Tłı̨chǫ region.

Premier McLeod and Grand Chief George Mackenzie agreed that the intergovernmental meeting was an excellent opportunity to discuss issues that impact the Tłı̨chǫ with the leaders who can bring about change.

Finally, the two governments agreed to build on their government-to-government relationship and renew the intergovernmental agreement for another four years.

Quick Facts

  • The Intergovernmental Memorandum of Understanding recognizes the importance of the government-to-government relationship between the Tłı̨chǫ Government and the Government of the Northwest Territories.
  • The agreement commits both governments to meet at least twice per year.
  • This was the tenth meeting of the Tłıc̨ hǫ Government and Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) since they initially signed the Working Together Intergovernmental Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) in June 2011.

For more information, contact:

Todd Sasaki
Senior Communications Officer
Executive and Indigenous Affairs
Government of the Northwest Territories
867-767-9140 ext. 14032

Zabey Nevitt
Sr. Advisor, Sustainability and Resource Management
Tłıc̨hǫ Government