GNWT and Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government Sign Intergovernmental Memorandum of Understanding

YELLOWKNIFE (June 7, 2019) – The Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) and Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government signed an intergovernmental memorandum of understanding today in Yellowknife.  The event was attended by Cabinet Members of the 18th Legislative Assembly, Deputy Premier Robert C. McLeod, Minister Wally Schumann, Minister Louis Sebert and Minister Glen Abernethy met with the Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government’s K’aowədó Kə (Main Council) Ɂekw’ahtı̨dǝ́ (Chief) Leeroy Andre, Deputy Ɂekw’ahtı̨dǝ́ Leonard Kenny, and members Danny Bayha, Tommy Betsidea, Dora Blondin,  and Walter Bezha.  

Signed by Deputy Premier Robert C. McLeod and Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government Ɂekw’ahtı̨dǝ́ Leeroy Andre, the Memorandum of Understanding between the Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government and the Government of the Northwest Territories, this is the first such agreement with a community-based self-government.  It commits the two governments to maintaining and enhancing their government-to-government relationship founded on the principles of the Délı̨nę Final Self-Government Agreement and the Sahtu Dene and Metis Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement. It provides a framework for the two governments to work together, promote effective communication and constructive dialogue at the political level about common priorities in the Délı̨nę District. 

“The Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government is pleased to build upon its new and evolving government-to-government relationship with the GNWT through the memorandum of understanding. The memorandum of understanding will strengthen our relationship and is a new beginning for all of us,” said Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government Ɂekw’ahtı̨dǝ́ Leeroy Andre. 
“This memorandum of understanding is a tangible example of the work we are doing to strengthen our government-to-government relationships with Indigenous governments, which is a priority of the 18th Legislative Assembly.  The signing of this memorandum of understanding establishes a forum for the GNWT and the Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government to meet on an annual basis,” said Deputy Premier Robert C. McLeod on behalf of the Premier , “and commits our two governments to working together as partners to advance the interests of all NWT residents.”

The 18th Legislative Assembly made it a priority to advance land, resources and self-government negotiations and to continue to establish and strengthen relationships formal government-to-government relations with all Indigenous governments in the Northwest Territories through the development of memorandums of understanding.  This is also one of the commitments of Respect, Recognition, Responsibility – the Government of the Northwest Territories’ Approach to Engaging with Aboriginal Governments.

Quick Facts

  • The Intergovernmental Memorandum of Understanding recognizes the importance of the government-to-government relationship between the Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government and the Government of the Northwest Territories.
  • The agreement commits both governments to meet once per year. 
News Type: 
Banner Image: