Indigenous Governments of the NWT

Dehcho First Nations

For up to date contact information, please refer to the NWT Indigenous Government Directory

The Dehcho First Nations represents 10 First Nations and two Métis Locals. The primary objective of the DFN is to regain independence as a self-governing nation of people based on values, customs and traditions. The philosophy, desires and ideals of the DFN are intended to set the stage for future generations to benefit from the wealth and health of DFN people and Lands.

Click here for more information about current negotiations regarding the Dehcho Land, Resources, and Self-Government Agreement.

Dehcho Communities

  • Fort Providence

  • Fort Simpson
  • Jean Marie River
  • Kakisa
  • Sambaa K'e
  • West Point (Hay River)
  • Wrigley


  • Dene Zhatie
  • Chipewyan
  • Michif
  • English