Indigenous Governments of the NWT

Inuvialuit Regional Corporation

For up to date contact information, please refer to the NWT Indigenous Government Directory

Inuvialuit Regional Corporation was established with the overall responsibility of managing the affairs of the settlement as outlined in the Inuvialuit Final Agreement (IFA). Its mandate is to continually improve the economic, social and cultural well-being of the Inuvialuit through implementation of the IFA and by all other available means.

Through a democratic process, Inuvialuit beneficiaries directly control the IRC and its subsidiaries. Each Inuvialuit community - Aklavik, Inuvik, Paulatuk, Sachs Harbour, Tuktoyaktuk and Ulukhaktok - has a community corporation (CC) with elected directors. The directors of the six community corporations elect the Chair/Chief Executive Officer of IRC. The Chairs of each CC, together with the Chair of IRC, form the IRC Board of Directors.

Click here for more information about the Western Arctic Claim - The Inuvialuit Final Agreement and current negotiations regarding the Inuvialuit Self-Government Agreement.

Inuvialuit Communities

  • Aklavik

  • Inuvik
  • Paulatuk
  • Sachs Harbour
  • Tuktoyaktuk
  • Ulukhaktok


  • Inuvialuktun
  • English
  • Inuinnaqtun
  • Gwich'in