Indigenous Governments of the NWT

Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated

For up to date contact information, please refer to the NWT Indigenous Government Directory

The Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated was formed by the seven Sahtu land corporations — four Dene land corporations and three Métis land corporations — on June 23, 1994, with the enactment of the Sahtu Dene and Métis Land Claims Settlement Act (SDMCLCA). Provisions in the SDMCLCA include the power to establish implementing bodies that are responsible for a range of services and activities within the Sahtu Settlement Area.

For more information about the Sahtu Dene and Métis Land Claim Agreement and current negotiations:

Sahtu Communities

  • Délı̨nę 
  • Tulita
  • Colville Lake
  • Norman Wells
  • Fort Good Hope


  • North Slavey
  • English