Strengthening Relations with Indigenous Governments

Intergovernmental Cooperation Agreements

The Department of Executive and Indigenous Affairs has signed formal Memoranda of Understanding (MOUs) with Indigenous governments that outline matters of mutual interest related to intergovernmental cooperation and coordination. These bilateral agreements confirm the commitment of both parties to work together to strengthen government-to-government relations, and in so doing, establish a forum and process for leaders to discuss and advance shared concerns.

To date, the GNWT has completed eight (8) MOUs with Indigenous governments, which have helped to formalize and advance the GNWT’s government-to-government relations with:

  1. Tłı̨chǫ Government (initially signed in June 2012 and renewed in 2014)
  2. Gwich’in Tribal Council (initially signed in Oct 2012 and renewed in May 2017)
  3. Northwest Territory Métis Nation (initially signed in Nov 2012 and renewed in Dec 2017)
  4. Akaitcho Dene First Nations (initially signed in May 2013 and renewed in Mar 2018)
  5. Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (signed in Apr 2015)
  6. Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated (signed in June 2015)
  7. Salt River First Nation (signed in Aug 2015)
  8. Kátł’odeeche First Nation (signed in Sept 2016)
  9. Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government (signed in June 2019)