Indigenous Governments of the NWT

The Government of the Northwest Territories recognizes Indigenous Governments as governments that have negotiated, or are in the process of negotiating, self-government agreements with the GNWT and the Government of Canada.

Regional Governments

These are Indigenous Governments that represent multiple communities. Seven regional governments have been established in the NWT to date:

  1. Akaitcho Territory Government
  2. Dehcho First Nations
  3. Gwich'in Tribal Council
  4. Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
  5. Northwest Territory Métis Nation
  6. Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated
  7. Tłįchǫ Government

Community Based Governments

Represent exclusive negotiations undertaken by individual communities that seek governing powers that are unique to the interests of their membership.

  1. Kátł’odeeche First Nation
  2. Salt River First Nation
  3. Acho Dene Koe First Nation and Fort Liard Métis Local #67
  4. Délı̨nę Got’ı̨nę Government

See the NWT Indigenous Government Directory for contact information.